Home > existence, music, music production > A Month to Prepare

A Month to Prepare

tromboniaYou see yourself in the mirror and you wonder how you got there.   But really, you know.  You seem to remember there was this one and that one, and they said this and that and thus and so.  And they did stuff, too.  Some of this stuff they did and said you came somehow to own a share of, like a squatter, sojourner, stranger in a strange land.  Ends up to be a great shared mass of particles, bits of reality and misconception, outright lie and humble truth.

After all of that you look in the mirror and you either hate or love what you see.  Given the random nature of what is, it doesn’t really matter which.  Pick one, play the part well, and maybe they’ll ask for an encore.

I decided to drop the “Bare Bone” from the EP title and just call it, “The Rubenoff Project”, subtitle, “Songs of Love, Despair and Regret.”   I’ll save “Bare Bone” for a more trombone-centered recording maybe next year.

I could have really gone either way this year, but – and this will sound a bit funny coming from a sexagenarian – but I my sound needs to mature just a bit more.  The Universe has been pushing me toward being a solo act on the trombone, but it is not really what I like.  I like to blend.  Therefore I like somebody to blend with.

Well, it’ll come, or it won’t.  Wait and see.

In the mean time my sessions are booked for August 1st and 2nd, so I have lots of time to make sure I can remember my lyrics.  Lucky for me the people I will be recording with are all better than I am.  😉

 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

