Home > door hardware, existence, music, Poetry, Writing > Tossing Invisible Coins

Tossing Invisible Coins

turtlesI often consult the I Ching, using tossed coins to create the hexagrams that lead to the numbered passages.  The coins create broken lines, unbroken lines, and lines that change from broken to unbroken or unbroken to broken.  To me this is a kind of poetry, bringing into play the forces of gravity, time, momentum, friction, light and thought to deliver a message in a powerful yet circumspect way.  I suppose I go to the I Ching the same way I go to a poetry reading or slam – open to receive the lines that will speak to me a message that perhaps I seek without even knowing that I seek it.

The poems this week in the Poetry Locksmith pages at Eye On Life remind me of the enjambment (if you will) of the tossed coins of the I Ching.  There is quite an array of difference here, even between poems by the same poet.  Donal Mahoney continues his prolific streak and Samuel Vargo makes his EOL debut.  Please stop by and see if some of their wonderful, remarkable lines speak to you.

In other news, I wrote an article about the numbers and letters that appear on keys and a song called, “Anger Management.” 

I am ostensibly on vacation this week, but since it is more of a ‘stay-cation’ I am around today, having fun.  I wouldn’t mind if every day was like this.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

