Home > existence, Poetry > Six Poems about Work

Six Poems about Work

1
Funerals
Elder care
Retirement
College educations
Teenagers
Children
Babies
Medical care
Vacations
Money
Fun
Transportation
Shelter
Food
Clothing
Work
Me

2

There is the car that takes me to work
There is the time that I spend in the car
There is the time that I spend fixing the car
There is the time that I spend paying for the car
There is the time that I spend fueling the car
There is the time that I spend worrying about the car

This is my work
There is the time I spend getting ready for work
There is the time I spend doing my work
There is the time I spend thinking about work
There is the time I spend buying clothes for work
There is the time I spend worrying about work

Tell me again
Why do I do this?

3

All day in a chair
My belly has begun
To spill into my lap
My ass has spread
To stabilize itself
Beneath its constant load
My eyes have retreated
My skin has grown blood-pressure-elevated red
They call this
“Evolution”

4

O wellspring!
Source of sustenance
For body and soul
You are my living
My reason to live
I am so grateful
For your means
To feed
My family

5

Beginning there was
So much to learn
Every day I expanded
I grew more powerful

Powerful and wise
I dispensed wisdom
Reaped rewards
Harvested respect

Challenged by the younger
I held them at bay
Holding a few magic jewels
Of special knowledge

Slouching toward retirement
I scarcely conceal
That I am overmatched
And no longer care

Retired I feel abandoned
Purposeless and futile
Obsolete jetsam
From the wreck of my era

Dead I look back
Upon the wasteland
Footsteps in the sand
Quickly erased by the wind

6

Realizing that I am not what I do
Any more than I am what I own
I go to work each day searching
For exactly what I want

Every day I feel I am closer
To exactly what I want

One day I know
Exactly what I want
And the work unfolds
Like a tulip in spring
Revealing

Exactly what I want

This would be poem 25 through 30 to squeak by NaPoWriMo. Whew!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

