Home > Poetry > Forcing the Heart

Forcing the Heart

Blend into the desired heart
Aching around the scars
Squeezed open in my fist
Exposing the raw interior
To the stinging air

Bearing burdens
I am brought others bearing burdens
Smiling I am brought smiles
When I breathe into nothingness
I am brought beauty

Carrying the heart
Forced open
Everyone steps forward
Vivid and colorful
Naked of pose

Their burdens are my kinship
Their smiles mine
The breath of beauty ours
Shared in the bruised interior
Of the forced-open heart

Poem 14 of 30 for NaPoWriMo 2012.  

Categories: Poetry Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

