Home > Uncategorized > There is Much to Love Here

There is Much to Love Here

There is much to love here

Young green lives reaching
Feathered knights staking claims
Inventive humans in vehicles

Yet my eyes
Are escaped helium balloons
Rising skyward and skyward
As the child
Reaching open-handed
For me
Grows smaller and smaller

They live like us up there
Kind of
Merging and emerging
Floating driven
Slowly changing shape
Nobody
Ever says anything
Maybe that is different

The sky an immense
Kinetic canvas
Ever-changing painting
Or a stage
Where slowly morphing characters
Act out our fantasies

Since I am not
A cloud
Perhaps I had best
Live out my fantasies
Here

There is much to love here

(Poem eight of thirty for NaPoWriMo) 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 10, 2012 at 6:26 am

    Lovely!
    I was having a Mad Monday (Tuesday actually but I’m not splitting hairs), and chanced upon this.
    I’m lighter, immediately.
    Well written with an ending that slots straight into the heart.
    Locked and loaded, I can deal now.
    Bring it!

  2. Lisa Doherty
    April 11, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    This is wonderful Tom…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

