Home > Poetry > Feeling Poetic

Feeling Poetic

Not sure what it is, this feeling, these pictures insinuating themselves on my psyche, demanding that their stories be told.

One of my favorite poets, Mary Oliver, thinks of herself as a reporter rather than a poet.  I can relate.  When I try to fabricate something to write a poem about, it never works.  There must be some outside influence, some inspiring factor that provides the impetus to express, imagine, emote and compose.

Sure, I organize the thoughts.  But the organization is approved elsewhere.

Call it my muse, a connection with Spirit, the finger of the Almighty writing on my heart, it forces me to see, to picture, to stumble over phrases worthy to frame this feeling, this emotion, this vision.

Who- or whatever you are, thank you.

Categories: Poetry Tags: , , ,
  1. September 12, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    I’ve just enjoyed reading all yourp posts Tom, but this one really spoke to me. I get such pleasure from writing my posts. I often have no idea what I’m going to write about or even what I have written about when I’ve finished. It also seems the ones I think “what a load of rubbinsh” have deeply impacted someone. I love writing poetry because it is ‘pretty’ writing. It has order and a beauty of its own, but like you, if there isn’t a stimulus, there isn’t a poem. Thank goodnes I’m not back in school and being forced to write about all sorts of topics I’m not interested in. =D Jenni

  2. September 12, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    Writing at will is such a joy, isn’t it – barring writer’s block, of course. But then, when one has writer’s block, that’s the perfect time to READ.

  3. September 13, 2011 at 11:14 am

    i agree … some of us are here to speak for the ones that cannot … or to translate that sight into the feeling for those who cannot …

    we are here as the deep still still commentators of a world unseen by most. we paint with our feelings and words.

    but where do you turn when words do not suffice? :]

    thank you for the follow on Daily Muse. i’m still evolving there and wondering how it all fits into the healing and spiritual teacher world … i have no choice but to follow tho. seems you found me on the path :]

    ❤ g

  4. September 13, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    Our paths converged and I am glad. I saw something compelling. Poetry will result! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

