Home > Poetry > The Mall

The Mall

In the quiet dawn of what is

Though my heart is a brick

I will be grateful

Though these days are like an endless shopping mall

Filled with many things I do not want

I will be grateful

Because I know they are not endless

And we must be grateful

For the temporary

For the moment

That we will never see again

And this mall

Though shiny and offensive with its cheap wealth

Proffering all the tools of the masquerade

That around this mall parades –

Costumes to create the appearance of beauty

Scents to mask the smell of sickness

Shiny objects to distract the eye from the truth

A miracle bra for the woman

A pair of socks for the boy to put in his pants

Everything a person could want

To hide that for which they are most ashamed

And the animal fat of its so-called “food court”

Where I can ingest obesity and disease

Where the recipes

All have as the main ingredient

“Life-long tortured animal”

And every bite

Is filled with animal hate and fear

I know somewhere in here

There is something for me

Something that I want

I know because I made this mall

I know there is someone kind

Who will take my hand

And walk with me right the fuck out of here

No, wait, never mind

I’ll get my own ass up and walk out of here

Thank you

Out to where the forecast says

There is a one hundred percent chance

Of real

Every single day

Where I can wake up to what is

With a beating, open heart

Grateful I had the chance

To go to the mall

And come back home

To the quiet dawn

Of what is

 

Click here to hear.  

Categories: Poetry Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

