Home > existence, Poetry > DarkWomb

DarkWomb

The womblike long dark hallway of night
Cracks around closed doors bleeding light
Behind them rooms are bright
They chase away their thoughts

A sandstorm erodes transparency
Until it aches, opaque
And the lone searcher can see
Neither revelation nor mistake

Cracks around closed doors bleeding light
Within the rooms behind them bright
They distract away the night
While I roam, stillborn in my thoughts

Arriving at the destination of my cumulative choice
No ear is near to hear my voice
Regardless silenced
My sadness having sucked out all the air

Within their rooms they stay bright
Shining hopelessly through the night
At the end of the tunnel see no light
I am chased away

I would be born out of this womb
From this tomb exhumed
Reanimated in some private room
Where I alone my bitter cup consume
Sweep up the pieces with a broom
Weave a new life on a loom
Cheat myself out of my doom
Screams are silent in a vacuum

Thoughts chase them away
Behind their doors to bright rooms
That bleed light through the cracks
As I retreat to my long dark womb

To hear an audio recording of this poem, click here.  

Categories: existence, Poetry Tags: ,
  1. June 27, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Tom, I think this is one of your best yet. I like the imagery and also the metaphor of light bleeding. BTW, I mailed the book today from Little Rock. K

  2. June 27, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Thank you. And… thank you! Say hi to everyone in Arkansas!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

