Home > Poetry > I Shan’t Write a Poem Today

I Shan’t Write a Poem Today

I shan’t write a poem today. I’m too oft

The poet, cataloging joy and pain

The blooms of scented spring with petals soft

The company of sadness in the rain

For every face its promise falsely plays

Pathetically romantic poet me

And love like rain arrives but never stays

And like the rain can never captured be

In love no more the beauty do I see

I shall not write a poem today, not me

Categories: Poetry Tags: , , ,
  1. May 15, 2011 at 8:00 am

    This is such a great piece..your narrative and tone are captivating..and made me read this again and again..love this ..ELiza Keating

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

