Home > Poetry > Dawn

Dawn

Thank you for pre-dawn mist swathing the roots

Of trees in softness, masking the meadow

With a chill veil of solitude. Thank you

For the aloneness I’ve come to value

Against my will. Thank you for these lessons

About my stubbornness, about the age

Of my soul. Thank you for these regressions

Encouraging me to seek out the sage.

I place my feet silently, reverently

In the muted dawn, and to the quiet

Voices of morning listen intently

For meaning and for direction I’ve yet

To find: searching for undiscovered truth

Between or around these mist-shrouded roots.

Categories: Poetry Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

