Home > Poetry > I Must Let Go

I Must Let Go

Everything I love I must let go

Of

Every face must turn away

From love

Conform

To know

Beauty must dim

Time must transform

Or there must be a him

No way to keep the night or day

Too many bad bargains

Too many times

Sold my soul

Trying to rise

Again

Takes its toll

Staggering like these rhymes

Fantasize

When you speak

The sound of you tells me

Your love of coffee or cigarettes

Falsely meek

Filled with glee

Or steaming regrets

I intend

Having seen

The nature of the game

And players

To end

Without saying what I mean

Without saying my name

Or prayers

Categories: Poetry Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

