Home > Poetry > Poem for my Sister

Poem for my Sister

I remember you in a cone-shaped hat

You made from a felt hat and a broom handle

You wore it to pick cherries

From trees now gone

 

I remember you in some kind of house

What was it made from?

A school bus and an Airstream trailer?

That winter after you married

 

I remember you in your beautiful house

With your children and grandchildren and my children

And our mom

And my kids ran out the front door

Where the sun shone on the grass

For what seemed like miles

And I had no more a care in the world

Than the goldfinches visiting your front yard feeder

And the cows across the road

Panhandling for apples

 

I remember you

Those last days

Suffering between sleeping

When I had not the heart to say

That I will miss you sister

From now until I see you again

I will miss you

 

Linda McCutcheon
1952 – 2010

 

Categories: Poetry Tags:
  1. thedreamwords
    December 12, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Sorry for your loss. Great stuff by the way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

